Current travel/safety conditions in Afghanistan

All about Afghanistan
disparate

Post by disparate »

Hey folks!

I've been dreaming of travelling to Central Asia for three years now, and I'm finally doing it, I fly to Bishkek on Sunday.

Afghanistan has been an object of my curiosity for a long time, I'm super interested in its history, culture, natural beauty, etc.

Does anyone have any recent experiences within the country? Or has perhaps met someone while in Central Asia who has been? I'm hoping to grab the visa while in Khorog, and then cross into Uzbekistan, heading immediately to the Termez border crossing (originally was gonna cross from Tajikistan but based on news headings Qunduz is an absolute no-go).

From Termez get a bus to Mazar-e Sharif, hang out for a bit, fly to Kabul (trying to organize a CouchSurf here), and maybe do the Bamyan province. Maybe fly to Herat, and from Herat back to Mazar and into Uzbekistan again. So the only portion of overland travel would be to and from the Uzbek border and Mazar, and from Kabul to the Bamyan province if it seems safe enough.

I am aware there are guides and bodyguards you can hire but I would like to do the trip as independently as possibly, a sullen man with an AK in tow isn't exactly ideal.
0 x

SPR11

Re: Latest situation in Afghanistan?

Post by SPR11 »

From the border to Mazar you have to take a taxi. Driving anywhere else in Afghanistan is not recommended. Illegal checkpoints are popping up and the situation is getting more unstable. I might have some more info on driving to Bamyan soon, but from what I hear now it's not a good idea.

Kunduz is definitely a no go area, but the cities of Mazar, Herat, Bamyan and Kabul are regarded "safe".

I'm personally of the opinion that walking around with security in tow makes you more of a target. Security personnel is a prime target.

I'll let you know if I get more info.
1 x
Ramblings about our Asian journies at www.lostwithpurpose.com