2 Weeks in Kyrgyzstan in June - any help highly appreciated

Post your itinerary questions and trip reports here
Ruben

2 Weeks in Kyrgyzstan in June - any help highly appreciated

Postby Ruben » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:09 pm

Dear Caravanistan,

my name is Ruben and I am originally from Germany. I will spend two weeks travelling Kyrgyzstan, flying in to Bishkek on 03.06. and flying out of Bishkek on 19.06.2017. Apart from a trip to Iran in 2013, this is my first time travelling this region of the world. I am an avid hiker and would like to go on shorter trekks (4 days), enjoy the beautiful nature and see as much of Kyrgyzstan as possible.

The itinirary, which I have drawn up for now (very open to any suggestions on which other places to squeeze in), looks as follows:

Day 1( 03.06.): arrival and sightseeing in Bishkek

Day 2 (04.06.): transfer to and night in Cholpon-Ata

Day 3 (05.06.): transfer to Karakol

Day 4-7 (06.-09.06.): 4 day trek from Karakol gorge to Altyn-Arashan with local CBT

Day 8 (10.06.): transfer from Karakol to Kochkor and night in Kochkor

Day 9-11 (11.-13.06.): organized tour (trek and/ or horseback riding) to Lake Song-Kol with local CBT or similar

Day 12 (13.06.): transfer to and night in Dschalalabat

Day 13 - 15 (14.06.- 16.06.): transfer to and 2 nights in Arslanbob, trekking in the walnut tree

Day 16 - (17.06.): transfer back to Bishkek

So my first and foremost question towards travellers, who know the region and have done a similar trip, do you think that this itinirary is realistic given the time I have? Do you may be have alternative but similar routes that you would recommend?

I would like to do most of the above transfers using public transport (busses/ mashrutkas or shared taxis). How is the transport situation between these places? If better, I would also be willing to hire local drivers to make parts of the journey. Based on your experience, which forms of transport would you recommend for these transfers?