Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Iran: Problems for Journalists?

The place for all visa questions and embassy reports. Expert: Crazydre
Forum rules
Before asking a visa question, make sure you have read the relevant visa article about the country. Overview page: http://caravanistan.com/visa/

Before submitting an embassy report or question, have a look first to see if a topic already exists. Relevant topics are linked to from the visa pages on the site.

Thank you!
ilig

Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Iran: Problems for Journalists?

Post by ilig »

Hi everyone!

I'm planning a trip (late August or September) from Iran via Turkmenistan to Uzbekistan. I'm a German citizen based in Berlin, so I would try to get my visas at the local embassies here before I leave.

I'm a journalist, but this journey has no connection to my work and I'm not planning to write anything about it. It's only for touristic purposes. Still: Do you know whether they might reject me if I fill in the form stating that I'm a journalist? And: Are they checking if the occupation that I declare on the form is actually true?

Any experiences?

Thank you :)
0 x

steven
Admin
Admin

Re: Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Iran: Problems for Journalists?

Post by steven »

Yes, that is a huge issue. If you say you are a journalist, there is a 100% chance you will not get into Turkmenistan. Uzbekistan I can check, Iran I don't know enough about.

Do they check? I think Iran does google people, Turkmenistan definitely does, Uzbekistan I am not sure. I will ask a friend of mine what she wrote for UZ, she is a German journalist and was in Uzbekistan recently (got arrested and deported though, but that was because she was actually trying to do journalism).
0 x
If you like Caravanistan: we have opened a tip jar! We love you back! :D

steven
Admin
Admin

Post by steven »

Got an answer (for Uzbekistan):

Better to lie. If he is well known in Germany and has a "big" name, they nevertheless could reject. But, yes, just try it.
0 x